Solem Quartet

Great Britain


Violin I: Amy Tress

Violin II: Catherine Landen

Viola: Alistair Vennart

Violoncello: Stephanie Tress


II. Round:

Joseph Haydn

Streichquartett h-Moll, op. 64,2; Hob. III: 68
Allegro spirituoso
Adagio ma non troppo
Menuetto. Allegretto
Finale. Presto

Yongbom Lee

Streichquartett „Traces de lumière“ (2015)
Siegerkomposition des Kompositionswettbewerbs in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Komposition, Elektroakustik und TonmeisterInnen-Ausbildung

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy

Streichquartett a-Moll, op. 13
Adagio – Allegro vivace
Adagio non lento
Intermezzo. Allegretto con moto – Allegro di molto
Finale. Presto – Adagio non lento



Joseph Haydn

Streichquartett Es-Dur, op. 20,1; Hob. III: 31
Allegro moderato
Menuet. Un poco allegretto
Affetuoso e sostenuto
Finale. Presto

Franz Schubert

Streichquartett c-Moll, D 703
Allegro assai

Ludwig van Beethoven

Streichquartett e-Moll, op. 59,2
Molto Adagio. Si tratta questo pezzo con molto di sentimento
Allegretto – Maggiore. Thème russe
Finale. Presto – Più presto



Joseph Haydn       

Streichquartett F-Dur, op. 77,2; Hob. III: 82
Allegro moderato
Menuet. Presto
Finale. Vivace assai

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Streichquartett d-Moll, KV 421
Allegro moderato
Menuetto. Allegretto
Allegretto ma non troppo

Béla Bartók

Streichquartett Nr. 4
Prestissimo, con sordino
Non troppo lento
Allegretto pizzicato
Allegro molto

Solem Quartet 1.jpg Fotocredit: David Pettifer

As winners of the 2014 Royal Overseas League Ensemble Competition, the Solem Quartet enjoy a busy concert schedule at venues across the UK including Wigmore Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall and Bridgewater Hall while also performing internationally in several European countries. They have been broadcast several times on BBC Radio 3, most recently as part of the 2016 BBC Proms.
The quartet are currently Junior Fellows in Chamber Music at the Royal Northern College of Music, giving regular coaching to chamber ensembles as well as concerts throughout the year. They have recently been announced as 2016/17 Park Lane Group Artists and will give recitals at Kings Place, St. John’s, Smith Square and St. Martin-in-the-fields in the coming year as part of the PLG recital series. They have also been selected for a Tunnell Trust Award, through which they will undertake a tour of Scotland in 2018.
Since September 2016, they have been Quartet-in-Residence at the University of Liverpool. They have furthermore been privately commissioned to undertake a complete Beethoven cycle, to take place over five years starting in 2017, in Aberystwyth and London.