Eliot Quartet

Russia/ Canada/ Germany


Violin I: Maryana Osipova

Violin II: Alexander Sachs

Viola: Dmitry Khakhalin

Violoncello: Michael Preuß


II. Round:

Joseph Haydn

Streichquartett D-Dur, op. 76,5; Hob. III: 79
Allegretto – Allegro
Largo cantabile e mesto
Menuetto. Allegro – Trio
Finale. Presto

Yongbom Lee

Streichquartett „Traces de lumière“ (2015)
Siegerkomposition des Kompositionswettbewerbs in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Komposition, Elektroakustik und TonmeisterInnen-Ausbildung

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy

Streichquartett e-Moll, op. 44,2
Allegro assai appassionato
Scherzo. Allegro di molto
Presto agitato



Joseph Haydn

Streichquartett G-Dur, op. 33,5; Hob. III: 41
Vivace assai
Largo cantabile
Scherzo. Allegro
Finale. Allegretto – Presto

Franz Schubert

Streichquartett c-Moll, D 703
Allegro assai

Ludwig van Beethoven

Streichquartett F-Dur, op. 59,1

Allegretto vivace sempre scherzando
Adagio molto e mesto
Thème Russe. Allegro



Joseph Haydn

Streichquartett h-Moll, op. 64,2; Hob. III: 68
Allegro spirituoso
Adagio ma non troppo
Menuetto. Allegretto
Finale. Presto

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Streichquartett D-Dur, KV 575
Menuetto. Allegretto

Béla Bartók

Streichquartett Nr. 3
Prima parte. Moderato
Seconda parte. Allegro
Ricapitulazione della prima parte. Moderato
Coda. Allegro molto

Eliot Quartett .jpg Fotocredit: Eliot Quartett

The Eliot Quartet was founded in 2014 on the basis of long-running friendship and musical experience. Its four young musicians are currently studying chamber music with Prof. Hubert Buchberger at the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts, and this October, the group began additional studies with Prof. Günter Pichler at the Instituto Internacional de Música de Camera of the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía in Madrid. The Eliot Quartet has attended master classes with the Mandelring Quartet and also received valuable musical guidance from Profs. Günter Pichler and Roland Glassl. After winning the Chamber Music Prize of the Polytechnische Gesellschaft Frankfurt in late 2014, the quartet captured a 3rd prize in the string quartet category of the Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Conservatory Competition in January 2016. The group takes its name from the American poet T. S. Eliot, whose famous work Four Quartets was inspired by the innovative late string quartets of Ludwig van Beethoven.