ZiMT

In June 2008 headed by Johannes Kretz a new "center for innovative music technology" ("Zentrum für innovative Musiktechnologie, ZiMT) was founded at the University for music and performing art Vienna. Organizationally being part of the institute for composition and electroacoustics the ZiMT connects the universities intitutes, works interdisziplinarily and gives important impulses for research in the fields of computer aided music theory (computer aided composition, artificial intelligence), computer music (live electronics, sound processing and synthesis) as well as multimedia performance (sensor technology, net art, media art).

Particular attention is given to the connection of research and education. Also combined research and educational projects with the participation of several institutes and disciplines are essential in order to develop new tools for composers, peformers and actors and in order to obtain important synergies from the direct interaction of of research and teaching, both, in the frame of the university as well as aimed at the music and artistic world outside. Furthermore the supervision of related master theses will lead to new tools and insights usefull for artistic work.

Besides the ZiMT actively connects the university with the international artisctic and scientific community through participation and organisation of meetings and congresses and through building a network of cooperations with related organisations. Cooperations with partners from economy, media world and cultural life should provide ways to third party funds and help the students to get in touch with their future professional life.

ZiMT

Im Juni 2008 wurde an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien ein neues Zentrum für innovative Musiktechnologie (ZiMT) unter der Leitung von Johannes Kretz gegründet. Dieses arbeitet – organisatorisch dem Institut für Komposition und Elektroakustik zugeordnet – institutsübergreifend und interdisziplinär und gibt wichtige Impulse für Forschung vor allem auf den Gebieten der Computer-unterstützen Musiktheorie (computer aided composition, artificial intelligence), der Computermusik (live electronics, Klangverarbeitung, Synthese) sowie der multimedialen Performance (Sensortechnik, Netzkunst, Medienkunst).

Großes Augenmerk gilt dabei der Vernetzung von Forschung und Lehre und der Durchführung von kombinierten Forschungs- und Unterrichts-Projekten unter Beteiligung mehrerer Institute, um so die neu entwickelten "Tools" für Komponisten, Interpreten und darstellende Künstler auch zu erproben und aus der unmittelbaren Interaktion von Forschung und Lehre wichtige Synergien zu gewinnen, sowohl innerhalb der Universität als auch für die Musik- und Kunstwelt nach aussen. Auch über die Betreuung von entsprechenden interdisziplinären Diplomarbeiten sollen neue Werkzeuge und Erkenntnisse für die künstlerische Arbeit erschlossen werden.

Weiters trägt das ZiMT zur Einbindung der Universität in die internationale artistic / scientific community durch Teilnahme bzw. Beteiligung an entsprechenden Kongressen sowie durch den Aufbau eines Netzwerks von Kooperationen mit einschlägigen Partnerinstitutionen bei. Über Kooperation mit Wirtschaft, Medienwelt und Kulturleben sollen sowohl Projekte mit Drittmittel-Finanzierung bzw. in Kooperation mit Partnern aus Wirtschaft realisiert werden, als auch eine praxisnahe Vorbereitung der Studierenden auf den Einstig ins Berufsleben.